Short Review for Springpad App

12 Jun

For the past month or so, I have been using the Springpad app to keep up with articles, pictures, and notes important to my writing.  It’s very easy to use, free, comes packed with just enough features and is accessible from anywhere. I’m always making notes and finding articles, so the app is very useful in keeping me organized.

One of the best features, in my opinion, is the ability to make several different notebooks. I have one for each book/story I’m working on, one for future ideas and one for miscellaneous articles I find across the web that are interesting or necessary for later. In my book-related notebooks I clip research articles and googled pictures of my characters and settings. I even leave notes for myself on various ideas for plot and world development. That is okay because I can also keep my notebooks private, which means I’m the only one reading them.

One thing that I feel mixed about is that everything saved to Springpad is kept online. This is a pro and a con. The pro is that, with your notebooks online, you’re not taking up space with hundreds of pics and articles on your computer. You’re also able to access your information from any computer (or phone, but the phone app isn’t as good) in the world through apps. The con is that you MUST have an internet connection in order to see your notebooks. You can’t get to them offline.

Another con that has popped up happened when I signed up. I signed up to Springpad through my Google account. Now I have to sign in through Google every time because I don’t have a login otherwise. This isn’t really so problematic, but it’s annoying and something I’d have liked to been warned about.

My favorite feature of Springpad is the app’s extension. It is a button that allows me to save webpages to my Springpad with two clicks. One click opens Springpad so I can choose what notebook to save to, and another click saves it. Very fast.

I love Springpad so far and am really pleased with it. It’s wonderful for a free program. I can’t say whether it’s the best or not because I haven’t worked with any others yet. I hear that Evernote is good, too. I’d really like to try Scrivener next, though, because it works on your computer. I understand, however, that you get a free trial and then you have to buy it if you want it. Many, many people say it’s their number one tool so it seems like it’s worth a try, at least. Will keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

